The Joy of Writing!

You know the feeling you get when you sit with an empty easel in front of you?

As if you got an empty life which you can make as colorful as possible. You can draw anything you want. You can color it however you want to. You can tell the world what you feel.

Like it’s your chance to leave something behind with your life.

That’s exactly what I’m feeling right now sitting with an empty paper right in front of me. It’s my window of opportunity into the world.

Every writer craves acclaim for his work.

Its not monetary or fame that’s a reason for this craving.  Every writer spends days, months even years researching for what he wants to write about. And all those hard work go into one small book of a few hundreds of pages. And a bit of praise for that, however small it may be will melt his heart.

If you call reading as heaven then I’d call writing as God.

The feeling you get when you write, the feeling you get when you witness your work develop into an art, that feeling is unmatched. It’s how a potter would feel when his pots take shape. Exactly how sculptor would feel when his sculpture takes face.
Its an art.

That’s what makes me so proud every time I write something from something as trivial as an examination paper to something as beautiful as a blog post.
I feel as if I’m creating something in this world. As if I’m leaving my mark on humanity through my work. You can kill a person, destroy his work but history always finds a way around everything to remain alive.
That’s the beauty of art. Art cannot be destroyed. That’s how Shakespeare, Picasso, Vincent Van Gogh and Da Vinci still live in spite of being dead for years.
Through their work.

The thing I love about writing is no matter how much you write, you just can’t get enough of it. There’s so much more than what you’ve seen that you’ll literally kill to know every little thing about it.

I remember the first time I started writing. It started out as poetry about my first crush and that’s how I started falling in love all over again. Not with her but with English, the beauty that every word can convey and not convey in every different situation, the power of stirring speeches and blood rushing writing. That’s what’s made me to want to become a writer. Not money, not fame but the simple feeling that I’m part of the world, that my footprint is all over the internet.

That simple thought that someone somewhere is reading this and actually feeling happy about reading this, the thing that I feel inside when I think of this is unmatchable.

I’ve taken up numerous personality tests and every single describes my personality as something that’s, literally put, good for nothing except for writing. They say I’m not good for a professional life. Maybe I’m not. Maybe I’m. I have no idea but I still don’t understand why they don’t rate writing as a profession.

Anybody can become a computer engineer after a couple of years of dedicated learning. Anybody can run a 100 metres or a play football after some years of training.
But none, absolutely none can become a writer unless he has it in him. That’s the reason why there are more failures in art and writing than in any other profession. You just cant even eke out a living if you aren’t good enough.

That’s what I want to find out too. I want to find out if I’m good enough. I want to find out if my writing is worth anything. I know its like putting everything on the line for something that has evaded millions of aspiring people like me. But its worth it.

Its totally worth it.

Because you see, writing is an addiction.
It’s a sweet torture.
When you start it, you cant end it at all. You just cant. You’ll love it too much that you’ll want it to prolong for as long as possible.
They say reading opens the mind and broadens the thoughts. Writing does more. It leaves a legacy of you in this world.
Edward Bulwer-Lytton quoted in one of his plays “Richelieu: Or Conspiracy” the words,
“The pen is mightier than the sword”
He could not be more right about it.
A sword kills a person and perhaps alters his generation but a word transforms an entire generation without killing a fly. All of those people who understood the power of words uttered used it to their advantage.
Because, nothing calms as well as words. Nothing hurts as much as words either.

I’ll finish this short note with another famous quote by Francis Bacon.
“Reading maketh a full man;
Conference, a ready man;
And writing an exact man”
Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

Leave a Reply

